Motivation, Standards, and Web 2.0

January 24, 2010 at 4:44 am 3 comments

ACTFL Standards

In the beginning of the year I always ask my students “Why do you want to learn Spanish?” and am always surprised when they have a blank expression on their face as if they had never even considered the question before. The standard answer is “I need 2 years of a foreign language to get into college.” It saddens me that students consider learning a new language as just a means to an end with no real desire to learn or use the language in a real way.  And it is not just students who feel this way.  Parents, administration, and other teachers all seem to see learning a second language as something that should be attempted (if scheduling allows) but that is not expected to lead to any level of proficiency. So, often this is the circumstance that we find ourselves in as World Language teachers. How do we motivate and inspire students to WANT to learn a second language? And how do we convince teachers, administrators and politicians the vital importance of our goals?

I think that the first thing we can do as world language educators is to continue to advocate the teaching the ACTFL standards. This seems obvious but, in reality, I see many world language teachers (including myself at times) still teaching Spanish (or German or French or ?) the way I learned Spanish 25 years ago – translate, conjugate, workbook, worksheet, test.  How can teaching to the standards motivate students? Standards based instruction in World Languages means teaching the 5 “C’s” – Communication, Cultures, Connections, Comparisons, and Communities. Standards based instruction should CONNECT students to the language in multiple ways WHILE learning the words and structures to communicate.

This brings me to my main point (finally) about using technology in World Language classrooms to really teach to the standards and make connections to students.  In my experience, technology has made teaching the World Language standards not only easier but more enjoyable for me and for my students.  Using web technology, I can use Google Earth and Flickr to show my students the world from our room.  Students can use tools like Etherpad to collaborate and communicate in real time with other language learners or heritage speakers. Students can record their voices using a variety of web based tools such as Voicethread, Voki’s, and Google Voice and then present their ideas to an audience of listeners. Students can go to a movie theater in Colombia, a real estate office in Mexico, or the Prado museum in Spain.  Students can record a podcast in the target language or tell a digital story about the countries and cultures they are learning about. As world language teachers we need to make the connections to our students so that they can connect to the languages we teach. New technologies allow us to connect in ways that were not possible before.  What  are you using to motivate your students to learn and love the language you teach? How are you showcasing the great work your students are doing? I’d love to hear what great things are happening in your classroom!

Photobucket

Entry filed under: Web 2.0. Tags: , .

Storybird Needs Language Moderators Does Ning have a place in the classroom?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly Tenkely  |  January 29, 2010 at 4:42 am

    I love that you ask students why they want to learn. What a great way to begin any learning. Students should be purposefully thinking about their learning and so often we skip this important thinking and jump right into learning. You are doing great things with your students, wish that my Spanish class had looked more like this!

    Reply
    • 2. Michelle  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      My students get tired of me asking them “why…” Why do you need to learn these words? When would you use them? Why do you need to conjugate verbs correctly? What happens if you don’t? etc, etc, etc. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Leslie in Colorado  |  August 16, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Thanks Michelle! I’m actually working on my syllabus for my Spanish IV class at the moment. My intent is of sharing a document in a format that really responds to what you mentioned above. It seems silly to plan to use all web 2.0 in my actual classroom but give them a traditional syllabus: expectations, standards, grades, etc. on a word document the first day.

    If you know of any “exciting” formats that represent truly teaching with the standards and using technology, please let us know,

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website

Photobucket
Photobucket

Enter your email address to subscribe to our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers
iweb visitor