Interactive Boards in the World Language Classroom

March 15, 2010 at 10:10 pm 3 comments

I created the image below by piecing together images from the web. The goal was for students to practice prepositions using the class Mimio. I projected this on my white board and with the pen the Mimio has, students moved the image of a rubber duck while practicing “encima de ..”, “debajo de …” “al lado de …” etc. I designed the room with things my 8th graders would like and that I knew I had taught them how to say in Spanish. They were able to practice their prepositions and their chapter vocabulary. If a student placed the duck in the wrong place, another student corrected the mistake by placing the duck in the correct place.

Last year my school purchased a few Mimios. I was one of the lucky teachers who was selected to receive a Mimio and be part of a Peer Coaching Program. When I first found out about it I was thrilled and started brainstorming of ways I could start creating activities to use this tool. When I first got it, it was great for a few days but then I started running out of ideas. Most teachers kept telling me to look online for ideas but unfortunately at that time there were not a lot of  World Languages lessons plans already created and available on the web. I became a bit frustrated and stopped using my Mimio for a little while.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about new ideas and I am thrilled to find out that more and more World Languages lessons plans and ideas for interactive board are starting to emerge on the web.

Mimio users have just started adding lesson plans for the World Language Classroom. You can check them out here.

Crickweb has some good resources for basic concepts in Spanish.

Triptico has great resources for review, games, name selectors, etc. They can all be user with your interactive board. I especially like the Word Magnet.

Smartboard users search for lesson using this engine.

Promethean users search for lessons here.

I have developed a few lessons to use for with my Interactive Board. Some of them include:

Prepositions

Grammar – SER Vs. ESTAR

Matching – Vocabulary Review

Complete the Sentence

What are some of the things you are doing to integrated Interactive Boards into your classrooms? What are some lesson ideas you have developed?

Photobucket

Entry filed under: Interactive White Boards, Tools. Tags: .

And the Winner is …. Sneak Peek – SWCOLT (South West Conference on Language Teaching)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ktenkely  |  March 16, 2010 at 2:48 am

    I am glad that you kept at it and gave your Mimo another try. The activity you created sounds like an excellent learning experience for your students!
    You may want to check out Promethean Planet for lessons that are posted there. It is free to register and you can download a free personal version of ActivInspire to use the Flipchart lessons you find. There may be a better collection to choose from that you can use with your Mimio.

    Reply
  • 2. Catalina  |  March 16, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Kelly,

    Thanks for your tip! I had looked at the Smartboard website but became discouraged b/c I was not able to access most of the activities. Promethean Planet is full of ideas. I will spend hours checking and downloading resources. I love it! THANK YOU!

    Reply
  • 3. South University  |  July 20, 2010 at 1:49 am

    thank you for the tips you posted. i’m just starting with my mimios and i don’t know what to do with it. I’m truly fascinated with the internet until now that it keeps opening up a lot of opportunities especially for education. i’m able to talk to my relatives at the other side of the world and teach them a thing or two.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website

Photobucket
Photobucket

Enter your email address to subscribe to our blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers
iweb visitor